Things that they ought to teach in school.

As I have grown older, I have realized that much of what we need to know is not taught in the grades k through 12.  For starters, I don’t remember anyone ever saying “This is how people learn.  These are the steps that you should take if you really want to learn something.”  Sure, I took notes, just like a few of the other people in Biology, but they were pretty much worthless to me several months later when I was studying for the big test.  Why?  I had never gone back and re-written them, expanding the hasty scribbles into full sentences while the material was fresh in my mind.

When I was going to school, no one seemed to care if I was able to cook a simple meal for myself.  Unless I took Home Economics, my ability to feed myself depended upon whether or not I threw away the instructions before I started cooking.  Ditto most of the technology that is a part of everyday life, like electricity, automotive basics, first aid, what to do when a pipe breaks, how to keep pipes from freezing, and that sort of thing.

And how often do kids learn how to build a fire, keep a fire going, and extinguish a fire?  Or how to fight a fire?  We can’t always wait for the fire department to show up, and knowing a few basics can make a huge difference in the end result.  Everyone should know how to react in an earthquake, yet few people do.

Things like these may not be essential to becoming an asset to some company, but they sure make a difference when we have to deal with the unforeseen.  Understanding how to change a tire may seem like nothing important, until you are a long way from a cell tower, it is getting colder, and you have a flat tire.  Being aware that the battery does not charge on your car when the engine is idling can make the difference between having your car die in the middle of a snowstorm and being able to keep it running.

2 Responses to “Things that they ought to teach in school.”

  1. RaiulBaztepo Says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Like

  2. PiterKokoniz Says:

    Hello !! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: what was the reasson for you to start this blog?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter

    Like

Leave a Reply

